peplexicon
Choose your depth

Context, anatomy, and key evidence

← Peptide library

amylin analog

Cagrilintide

Published evidence · coverage incomplete
Anatomical contextAnatomy connections are not mapped yet.

No body region is highlighted until this profile has a supported anatomical connection. This does not mean the peptide has no biological effects.

Read published mechanism findings ↓

At a glance

What is it—and why does it matter?

This identifies CagriSema’s components but does not specify doses or clinical effects. These differences are estimated with confidence intervals and p-values; they summarize average effects versus placebo in this trial, not necessarily real-world effectiveness.

Sources for this introduction: [1] [2]

This published profile is a reference in progress. Findings retain their source context; missing topics are marked below.

What is it?

A molecule, not a product name.

Identity

This identifies CagriSema’s components but does not specify doses or clinical effects.

Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    its fixed-dose combination with semaglutide (CagriSema)

    Amylin-based obesity therapy: a meta-analysis of Cagrilintide and CagriSema versus placebo. · BACKGROUND

    pubmed:42583410:9222d3567edf:9222d3567edf

How does it work?

Target, response, and disposition.

This profile does not yet contain a published summary for this topic. This is a coverage gap, not evidence that no research exists.

What has been studied?

What the evidence says.

Comparative evidence

Higher-dose CagriSema led to a significantly larger relative percentage bodyweight reduction than placebo at week 40.

Reported result
-12·4 percentage points (95% CI -14·7 to -10·1; p<0·0001)
Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    Cagrilintide-semaglutide was superior to placebo with respect to estimated mean relative change in bodyweight from baseline to week 40 for cagrilintide-semaglutide (2·4 mg each; -13·8% [SE 1·0]) versus placebo (-1·4% [0·7]; estimated treatment difference -12·4 percentage points [95% CI -14·7 to -10·1]; p<0·0001) and cagrilintide-semaglutide (1·0 mg each; -11·8% [1·0]) versus placebo (-1·4% [0·7]; estimated treatment difference -10·4 percentage points [-12·9 to -8·0]; p<0·0001).

    Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study. · FINDINGS

    pubmed:42251860:a96d97c31ee6:a96d97c31ee6

Comparative evidence

At week 40, CagriSema 1·0 mg each was -11·8% bodyweight vs -1·4% with placebo; the difference was -10·4 percentage points.

Reported result
-11·8% vs -1·4%; ETD -10·4 percentage points (-12·9 to -8·0; p<0·0001).
Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    cagrilintide-semaglutide (1·0 mg each; -11·8% [1·0]) versus placebo (-1·4% [0·7]; estimated treatment difference -10·4 percentage points [-12·9 to -8·0]; p<0·0001)

    Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study. · FINDINGS

    pubmed:42251860:a96d97c31ee6:a96d97c31ee6

Comparative evidence

Compared with placebo, higher-dose CagriSema produced a statistically significant additional HbA1c reduction at 40 weeks.

Reported result
-1·7 percentage points (95% CI -2·0 to -1·3; p<0·0001)
Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    This corresponded to an estimated treatment difference of -1·7 percentage points (95% CI -2·0 to -1·3; p<0·0001) for cagrilintide-semaglutide (2·4 mg each) versus placebo and -1·3 percentage points (-1·8 to -0·9; p<0·0001) for cagrilintide-semaglutide (1·0 mg each) versus placebo.

    Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study. · FINDINGS

    pubmed:42251860:a96d97c31ee6:a96d97c31ee6

Comparative evidence

The study compares cagrilintide versus placebo with random treatment allocation.

Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    Eligible randomized controlled trials (RCTs) assessed Cagrilintide monotherapy or CagriSema versus placebo.

    Amylin-based obesity therapy: a meta-analysis of Cagrilintide and CagriSema versus placebo. · METHODS

    pubmed:42583410:9222d3567edf:9222d3567edf

Comparative evidence

These differences are estimated with confidence intervals and p-values; they summarize average effects versus placebo in this trial, not necessarily real-world effectiveness.

Reported result
ETD vs placebo: -1·7 percentage points (95% CI -2·0 to -1·3; p<0·0001) (2·4 mg each); -1·3 (-1·8 to -0·9; p<0·0001) (1·0 mg each).
Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    This corresponded to an estimated treatment difference of -1·7 percentage points (95% CI -2·0 to -1·3; p<0·0001) for cagrilintide-semaglutide (2·4 mg each) versus placebo and -1·3 percentage points (-1·8 to -0·9; p<0·0001) for cagrilintide-semaglutide (1·0 mg each) versus placebo.

    Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study. · FINDINGS

    pubmed:42251860:a96d97c31ee6:a96d97c31ee6

Comparative evidence

At week 40, CagriSema 2·4 mg each was -13·8% bodyweight vs -1·4% with placebo; the difference was -12·4 percentage points.

Reported result
-13·8% vs -1·4%; ETD -12·4 percentage points (95% CI -14·7 to -10·1; p<0·0001).
Source records
1
Independent studies
1

Evidence boundary: Applies only to the source-defined population, formulation, dose, and assessment period.

Exact passages, locators, and provenance
  1. supports · Source-backed record
    cagrilintide-semaglutide (2·4 mg each; -13·8% [SE 1·0]) versus placebo (-1·4% [0·7]; estimated treatment difference -12·4 percentage points [95% CI -14·7 to -10·1]; p<0·0001)

    Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study. · FINDINGS

    pubmed:42251860:a96d97c31ee6:a96d97c31ee6

Risks and interactions

Risks, organized for scanning.

This profile does not yet contain a published summary for this topic. This is a coverage gap, not evidence that no research exists.

Products and regulatory status

Same ingredient. Different records.

This profile does not yet contain a published summary for this topic. This is a coverage gap, not evidence that no research exists.

Administration context

The practical clinical context.

This profile does not yet contain a published summary for this topic. This is a coverage gap, not evidence that no research exists.

Research status + gaps

What still needs better answers?

  • No publishable claim yet for: administration, contraindication, effect, interaction, mechanism, regulatory, safety
  • 150 compiled claim(s) withheld by automated assurance: assurance_score_below_0.58 (92), assurance_score_below_0.72 (54), current_regulatory_source_required (28), extraction_ambiguity (111), high_risk_requires_regulatory_or_two_independent_sources (55), no_direct_support (145), proposal_not_staged (3)

These are the limits of this profile, not an exhaustive list of scientific uncertainties.

References + discovery

Open the records yourself.

  1. Efficacy and safety of once-weekly cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) in adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled on diet and exercise (REIMAGINE 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3a study.

    pubmed · published 2026-08-01 · retrieved 2026-08-21T08:29:16Z

  2. Amylin-based obesity therapy: a meta-analysis of Cagrilintide and CagriSema versus placebo.

    pubmed · published 2026-08-01 · retrieved 2026-08-19T08:29:05Z

Publication history and provenance

Version 6 · Automated assessment · 2026-08-27T11:42:45Z

029024980d29f9c698407bc2e88f0b03bd46f438ec54938eac5d485ade320c94